OP Home > How-To > Tip Of The Week

Tip Of The Week

Mastered the art of the wide angle lens? Know how to get stunning close-ups of wildlife? Our quick tips for photographers offer up landscape and wildlife photo techniques that produce immediate results. Choose a subject and see how your images improve.


 
I'd also like to receive the
OP eNewsletter
Monday, July 11, 2011

Birdography

Good bird photography begins with knowing the subject’s behavior

Birds are a favorite subject of many nature photographers.

Monday, July 4, 2011

Get Off The Program

Really think about what you want as an end result

When I run my photo tours, I often get asked what exposure reading I'm getting.

Monday, June 27, 2011

How To Capture Great Scenics

Focus on three key elements when taking scenic photographs

A great outdoor scenic hinges upon three key elements - the direction and quality of the LIGHT; the COMPOSITION must be dynamic and compelling; and the SUBJECT should have intrigue to hold the viewer’s attention.

Monday, June 20, 2011

Defocus The Background

Center attention on what's important in your photographs

When all elements in a photograph are sharp, it tells the viewer that everything is important and commands attention from the viewer.

Monday, June 13, 2011

Creating Abstracts

Isolate, get close and make use of the right tools to make unique photos

Photographers have at their disposal many ways to create abstract images.

Monday, May 16, 2011

Pick a Color: Get Out of the Doldrums

The majority of the macro shots I create are made in late morning and early afternoon.

Monday, May 9, 2011

Diffusers

The majority of the macro shots I create are made in late morning and early afternoon.

Monday, May 2, 2011

Slow-Sync Backgrounds

Flash is a great tool to use to control backgrounds when working with macro subjects.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Foreground Midground Background Interest

Rules of good composition date back to the masters of the Renaissance.

Monday, April 18, 2011

Creative Shutter Speeds

A carefully chosen shutter speed does a lot more than provide a correct exposure.

Monday, April 11, 2011

Near / Far Depth Of Field

In landscape photography, it’s essential to record all elements in focus.

Monday, April 4, 2011

The Polarizer - A Photographer’s Best Friend

The polarizer shines because of its versatility.

Monday, March 28, 2011

Fill-Flash

Flash is a very powerful tool that allows a photographer to extend his or her shooting time into midday hours.

Monday, March 21, 2011

Time of Day Impacts the Light

There are many events for which a person should not be late: a wedding, job, school, and a plane flight are a few that come to mind.

Monday, March 14, 2011

Background Check

Whenever I create a photograph, I place as much importance on the background as I do on my subject.

Popular OP Articles